7 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

A. Motion on behalf of the Administration

That the following Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen be appointed –

Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Audit	Georgina Galpin	Fred Osborne
Governance	Frederick Thompson	Rebecca Bennett
Pensions	Melvin Wallace	Rebecca Bennett
Licensing (3 Vice-Chairmen)	Peter Gardner	Linda Trew Fred Osborne Melvin Wallace
Regulatory Services	Barry Oddy	Barry Tebbutt
Highways	Garry Pain	Billy Taylor
Children's & Learning Overview & Scrutiny Learning	Sandra Binion	
Environment Overview & Scrutiny	Jeff Brace	
Individuals Overview & Scrutiny	Wendy Brice-Thompson	
Towns and Communities Overview & Scrutiny	Damien White	
Value Overview & Scrutiny	Robby Misir	
Crime & Disorder	Osman Dervish	
Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Health Overview & Scrutiny	Pam Light	

Sub-Committees of the Governance Committee:

Adjudication & Review (2 Vice-Chairmen)	Ted Eden	1 Rebecca Bennett
Appointments	Rebecca Bennett	Michael White

B. Amendment on behalf of the Independent Residents' Group

That the following Chairmen be appointed –

Highways	David Durant
Towns and Communities Overview & Scrutiny	Michael Deon Burton

Sub-Committees of the Governance Committee:

Adjudication & Review	Michael Deon Burton
-----------------------	---------------------

C. Amendment on behalf of the Residents' Group

That the following Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen be appointed –

Licensing (3 Vice-Chairmen)		1. Linda Van den Hende (in place of Linda Trew)
Highways	Billy Taylor (see note following)	Brian Eagling
Children's & Learning Overview & Scrutiny Learning		Gillian Ford
Environment Overview & Scrutiny		John Mylod
Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Individuals Overview & Scrutiny		June Alexander
Towns and Communities Overview & Scrutiny	Linda Hawthorn	Linda Hawthorn

Annual Council, 23 May 2012

Value Overview & Scrutiny		Ray Morgon
Crime & Disorder	John Wood	John Wood
Health Overview & Scrutiny		Nic Dodin

Sub-Committees of the Governance Committee:

Adjudication & Review (2 Vice-Chairmen)		2 Barbara Matthews
---	--	--------------------

The Council noted that Councillor Billy Taylor had declined to be nominated by the Residents' Group for appointment as Chairman of the Highways Advisory Committee; and, with the consent of the Council, the Residents' Group nomination of Councillor Linda Van den Hende as a Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Committee was withdrawn.

The Administration motion (A above), except insofar as concerning the appointment of the Chairmen of the Committees specifically referred to below, was then **AGREED** without division.

The remaining proposed appointments set out in the Residents' Group amendment (C above), other than those of Chairmen of the Crime & Disorder Committee and the Towns & Communities Overview & Scrutiny Committee, were **AGREED** without division.

The Administration, Independent Residents' Group and Residents' Group nominations for Chairmen of the following Committees were then put to the vote, as follows:

Crime & Disorder Committee:

Nomination by:	Councillor	Votes cast (see division 1)
Administration	Osman Dervish	27
Residents' Group	John Wood	19

Councillor Osman Dervish was declared **ELECTED**

Adjudication & Review Sub-Committee:

Nomination by:	Councillor	Votes cast (see division 2)
Administration	Ted Eden	27

Annual Council, 23 May 2012

Independent Residents' Group	Michael Deon Burton	16
---------------------------------	---------------------	----

Councillor Ted Eden was declared **ELECTED**

Highways Advisory Committee:

Nomination by:	Councillor	Votes cast (see division 3)
Administration	Garry Pain	29
Independent Residents' Group	David Durant	15

Councillor Garry Pain was declared **ELECTED**

Towns & Communities Overview & Scrutiny Committee:

Nomination by:	Councillor	Votes cast (see division 4)
Administration	Damien White	28
Independent Residents' Group	Michael Deon Burton	3
Residents' Group	Linda Hawthorn	16

Councillor Damien White was declared **ELECTED**

Note: the record of voting divisions is attached as **Appendix 3 to these minutes**.

It was accordingly **RESOLVED**:

1 That the following Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen be appointed:

Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Audit	Georgina Galpin	Fred Osborne
Governance	Frederick Thompson	Rebecca Bennett

Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Pensions	Melvin Wallace	Rebecca Bennett
Licensing (3 Vice-Chairmen)	Peter Gardner	1. Linda Trew 2. Fred Osborne 3. Melvin Wallace
Regulatory Services	Barry Oddy	Barry Tebbutt
Highways	Garry Pain	Billy Taylor
Children's & Learning Overview & Scrutiny Learning	Sandra Binion	Gillian Ford
Environment Overview & Scrutiny	Jeff Brace	John Mylod
Individuals Overview & Scrutiny	Wendy Brice- Thompson	June Alexander
Towns and Communities Overview & Scrutiny	Damien White	Linda Hawthorn
Value Overview & Scrutiny	Robby Misir	Ray Morgon
Crime & Disorder	Osman Dervish	John Wood
Health Overview & Scrutiny	Pam Light	Nic Dodin

Sub-Committees of the Governance Committee:

Adjudication & Review (2 Vice-Chairmen)	Ted Eden	1 Rebecca Bennett 2 Barbara Matthews
Appointments	Rebecca Bennett	Michael White